Evisa holders to get 7 more airports as entry points

first_imgSeven more airports will soon be declared as entry points along with the existing nine where citizens from eligible countries can land with an e-tourist visa.Airports which will be declared as the entry points include Prime Minister (PM) Narendra Modi’s constituency Varanasi, his home state Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow and Tiruchirapalli. The progress comes as the government is expecting a rush of Chinese tourists to India when the e-Tourist Visa facility is finally rolled out to the citizens of the neighbouring country.The existing nine airports where one can land with an e-Tourist Visa are Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Hyderabad, and Thiruvananthapuram. An official from the union Ministry of Home Affairs said, “We are also planning to set up additional counters in the existing nine airports as we are expecting a rush of Chinese tourists.”The move comes following the PM’s promise to roll out e-tourist visa facility to Chinese nationals along with citizens of 31 more countries soon. Issues relating to e-visa that are to be offered to citizens of the 31 countries were discussed threadbare at a high-level meeting attended by representatives of ministries of Home, External Affairs, and Tourism.“Preparations are going on smoothly. We want to announce some more countries along with China whose citizens will be offered e-Tourist Visa,” the official said. Among the countries which will benefit from the extension of the facility are the UK, Spain, the Netherlands, Portugal, Malaysia, Tanzania, and Argentina.Other countries whose citizens will also benefit from the e-visas are Armenia, Aruba, Belgium, Colombia, Cuba, Guatemala, Hungary, Ireland, Jamaica, Malta, Mongolia, Mozambique, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Surinam, Sweden, East Timor, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uruguay, and Venezuela.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *